People think we’re broke

March 3, 2008 at 1:19 pm 3 comments

Since we’ve been following the Dave Ramsey plan, we come across people here and there that don’t quite understand why we would limit ourselves to paying cash. While most Americans are using credit cards and financing new cars, we get excited about buying a 5 year old car with cash. If that wasn’t weird enough, we don’t even have credit cards. A peculiar bunch we must be.

I find it amusing though, that people who are close to us think we’re broke. My parents fall into that category. I wasn’t even sure if I should tell my dad that we just bought a car, but I told him because I was excited about it. He asked what kind of car and year. After I told him, he was disappointed that we didn’t just go buy a new car. Of course, I wasn’t surprised by his response. I get the feeling, and this is based on past conversations, that my parents think we’re broke.

Honestly, we just decided we were done being normal and like every one else. We were sick and tired with where we were, financially, and decided to do something about it. Now, we live well within our means and pay cash for everything. It’s sad that our society looks at people like us as if we were struggling to make ends meet. Is it just me, or does anyone else see the irony?

Entry filed under: Frugal Life, Humor, Soap Box.

Budget Sticky #1: Budget Billing Do we really use envelopes?

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Dreamer  |  March 3, 2008 at 4:10 pm

    I find it funny when people think we are broke and I know we have way more money in savings and retirement then they do. My fiances sister and husband think we are broke because we have old furniture, an old tv, no newer electronics, and we hardly ever go out. They go out to eat all the time, have brand new furniture, have a brand new flat large screen tv.

    Recently we bought a house (in the process) and now they can’t believe it. They don’t understand where we got the money to buy a house because reality for them is a house looks to be quite a few years away.

    They don’t understand that while they are using discretionary money for the little things giving them joy right now, we are saving most of our discretionary money for the big purchases like a new house!

    I wonder now whether they think we are still poor or not. I laugh when they couldn’t understand how we had money to buy a house. Of course in the same conversation they are talking about how they just purchased an elliptical machine and a blue ray disc player and are replacing thier dvd collection with blu ray discs!

    Reply
  • 2. Mr. Debtbeater  |  March 3, 2008 at 9:19 pm

    What I think is even worse is that people think we have money…and we don’t. (especially when they know I have a good income.) It’s quite a struggle to say no to a lot of things and have to explain to the kids that just because their friends all get whatever they want doesn’t mean that we can do the same.

    Hopefully we’re building their character and setting a good example so they don’t just expect everything to be handed to them on silver platters their whole lives.

    I’m actually looking forward to other people thinking we’re broke. šŸ™‚

    Reply
  • 3. Debt Free Revolution  |  March 3, 2008 at 11:03 pm

    I think it’s hilarious when people think we’re broke. In fact, I have probably helped spread that rumor as far as my teenage son is concerned šŸ˜‰ But now the cat is out of the bag so to speak, since I couldn’t help telling everyone and anyone that WE’RE DEBT FREE but the house, BABY! Now of course, son and hubby are making lists of the “I wants,” which presents a whole new challenge…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

March 2008
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Most Recent Posts


