It feels good to not have to use the emergency fund

January 11, 2008 at 12:11 pm Leave a comment

As I left work the other day, I noticed the brakes were a little off. Off, as in I had to push the brake nearly to the floor board to get the car to stop. My first thought was that something needs to be fixed, but as soon as I say anything to my husband about things like this, he usually dismisses it as me overreacting.

I drove home and then to the grocery store and back home. It didn’t notice it get any worse so I just forgot about it. The following morning, I drove the truck to work and my husband took the car. We take turns, depending on who’s taking the kid to daycare. He called me up as I walked into my office and asked me if I noticed anything with the car. I said, “as a matter of fact, yes.” Of course, he razzed me a bit for not saying anything, but I told him why. He disagreed, and said he ouldn’t think I was overreacting when it comes to the brakes in the car. Right. Instead of arguing, we just focused on what we needed to do.

I dropped my stuff off at my desk and told the boss what happened. So, I left work to pick up my husband at home. He wanted to stop by the local auto shop and grab some break fluid, which helped him get by for the day. We weren’t going to be able to get the car in the shop until the following day.

Next day comes and we drop the car off to get looked at. It turns out one of the brake cylinders went out and needed to be replaced. We simply had both replaced because of the strain it puts on the working cylinder when this happens.

After all was said and done, we paid $373 for new cylinders and brake shoes. Luckily, we had the money in ING specifically for car repair so we didn’t have to tap into the emergency fund. A simple transfer to our checking account covered the repair.

Entry filed under: Budgeting, Emergencies.

Both sides of the story .. holiday spending in 2007 Mutual funds run by insurance companies aren’t very good

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

January 2008
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Most Recent Posts


