Unorthodox tactic to sell a house

January 8, 2008 at 9:54 am 1 comment

Barbara Scott, a home owner in Altamonte Springs, Florida is trying a new tactic to help sell her house in a slumping real estate market. While many real estate agents recommend more traditional methods to move homes, such as covering closing costs or repainting walls, Scott has thrown concert tickets into the deal.

“That’s right. The 2082 sq.ft. four bedroom, two bath home features a formal living and dining rooms, convenient split floor plan with huge master suite and two tickets to Hannah Montana’s January 29th concert in Orlando.” You get all that for merely $300,000.

I’m not sure what I think about this. I mean, I know times are desperate for some homeowners. But Scott’s house has only been on the market for 3 months, which isn’t a long time considering the market in Florida right now. And, honestly, concert tickets are hardly incentive for most realistic buyers. Folks looking at buying a home in this market are thinking of the investment opportunities, and concert tickets are hardly that.

While I hope Scott can sell her house to reunite with her husband in Oregon, I don’t see this working for her. Time will tell. And, you can never count Americans out of far-fetched schemes.

On a side note, according to Scott, “the president and congress can’t help me sell my house. I figure, Hannah could help me sell my house.” Since when does the government have anything to do with you selling your house? If anything, she needs to be blaming consumers who fell for the subprime trap.

—–
Source: Home, Hearth and … Hannah

Entry filed under: Money Fun, Real Estate and Mortgages.

The ‘coming’ credit card crunch would be a good thing Both sides of the story .. holiday spending in 2007

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. mamabear  |  January 8, 2008 at 10:06 am

    Sorry people. I do not have pity on you because you bought more house than you could afford and thought you could FLIP your house. Not only is that stupid… That’s called living beyond your means.

    When you do that two things happen:

    You become poor and desperate.

    🙂 Why would I want to buy your house for $300,000 and Hannah Montanah, when I can wait for a good “sale”. Let me see how much I can talk you down, since you really want to be in Oregon. I bet I could talk you down another 50,000…maybe 100? Wow.. that’s a deal! Let’s throw in the furniture. Say, I’m really interested…but I don’t know… do you have other freebies you could throw in? I know you’re really desperate.

    Yep… it’s a great time to buy! Lesson to learn? Smart people always wait for a sale before they buy….and everything ALWAYS goes on sale.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

January 2008
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Most Recent Posts


