Saving money on simple holiday gift bags

December 14, 2007 at 12:04 pm 3 comments

I created beautiful holiday gift bags for 20 people for only $50. That works out to about $2.50 per person. I was able to do that by putting the gift bags together myself with homemade goodies.

I have a close friend who makes a fabulous hot cocoa mix, so I got the recipe from her. It was really easy, just stopped by the grocery store, grabbed a few things and put them together in a large bowl and voila, delicious hot cocoa.

I stopped by the hobby store and bought: cellophane bags (for the cookies), holiday peppermint candies, small kraft paper bags with looped handles, and a tree-shaped cookie cutter.

About six months ago, my husband bought a tub of sugar cookie dough from a co-worker who was fundraising for his daughters’ dance team. I baked 40 cookies from the dough and still had enough for baking later.

After all the homemade goodies were ready, I filled 20 cone-shaped cellophane bags with hot cocoa mix and topped them with mini-marshmallows. Then tied them up with pretty white ribbons. I then put 2 cookies in the other cellophane bags and tied those off with pretty blue ribbons.

Instead of creating tags for each person, I grabbed some large label paper that was on my desk and printed beautiful holiday motifs that simply said, “Thank You.” I then stuck these labels onto the front of the bags. Once that was done, I just filled each bag with a bag of hot cocoa, cookies, candy cane, and 2 peppermint candies.

The gift bags were a hit! Not only did people like the presentation but loved the fact that I had put my time into creating the gifts for them. For me, I loved saving money and creating something special for people that impact me day to day.

Entry filed under: Frugal Life, Money Fun, Spending.

Why do we wait for the holidays or the end of the tax year to give? Setting boundaries, the old fashioned way

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Laura  |  March 17, 2008 at 6:50 pm

    I couldn’t find quality cellophane bags until my friend introduced me to bagsplus.com. This website was easy to read and allowed me to find bags at a fraction of the price of my previous supplier. After a few months of ordering there was a problem with my order. I ordered the wrong size and when I told them my problem they said it was no problem and they would send the bags I wanted. I love to save money and put it towards other endeavrs. THANK YOU bagsplus.com

    Reply
  • 2. chaka42  |  March 18, 2008 at 8:53 am

    Laura, thanks for the tip. I’m always looking for ways to save money on unique gifts.

    Reply
  • 3. Simon  |  November 2, 2008 at 7:11 am

    If you are going on holiday check to see if there are any tourist discount cards available in the area.

    I run a small membership in Cyprus for tourists. Cyprus is a great place to visit but boy is it expensive! So with a little discount at selected restaurants, car hire and hotels is always welcoming! Look up http://www.MyTouristCard.com to see if we could save you a little money on holiday.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

December 2007
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Jan »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Most Recent Posts


