Stealing content…never thought it’d happen to me

June 12, 2007 at 3:34 pm 6 comments

I was checking my blog stats just a minute and lo’ and behold, I came across a blog that copied yesterday’s post, word-for-word. It’s both funny and irritating all at once. What are people thinking? You can find my original post here. The copycat is over at Young Black Professionals Guide. They even kept the title of the post. I wouldn’t mind it, but the fact that they didn’t even credit me is just shameful. And I’m no Earnerst Hemingway..

Entry filed under: Off Topic.

College Edition: Top 10 educational expenses Call us whackos, but we have a plan

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Fredric  |  June 12, 2007 at 4:04 pm

    wow. didn’t even know. crediting now. my bad on that one. will definitely conversate with the other authors of the blog.

    Reply
  • 2. mamabear  |  June 12, 2007 at 4:52 pm

    What a moron. Anyone with a high school education knows you have to give credit to the original writer.

    Good way to get banned.

    Nice.

    Reply
  • 3. mapgirl  |  June 12, 2007 at 5:11 pm

    This is a common problem. First, you need to set a policy on your blog about using your content if you don’t already have one.

    Second, think about a Creative Commons license for your content.

    Third, contact the webmaster for that site and ask them to either make the proper citation or remove the post. If they fail to do so, contact their ISP.

    Check the Money Blog Forums. Punny Money had a great post there about what your rights are when you think your stuff is not attributed properly.

    Good luck!

    Reply
  • 4. chaka42  |  June 12, 2007 at 5:40 pm

    mapgirl, thanks for the advice. It’s something I’m going to look into now. I just never thought it would happen to me. I don’t consider myself that great a writer, but it is my writing. I’ve got our copywriter here at work all upset now. She just can’t get over the blatant copying.

    I’m wondering about Creative Commons though. It costs money, and in all honesty, I run this blog for free. Is it something that’s practical?

    I will have to write a policy for the blog. That I can definitely do.

    Thanks again!

    Reply
  • 5. Fredric  |  June 12, 2007 at 5:55 pm

    As I stated before, as an author at YBP Guide, I apologize on behalf of one of our authors. I’ve always stressed to our authors to cite sources and I just sent an email out to the rest of our team reminding them to do so.

    If the link I cited at the bottom of the above post is insufficient, I will take down the post.

    Once again, my apologies. You can hit me up at the email provided if you want to take the discussion offline.

    Reply
  • 6. Anonymous  |  June 12, 2007 at 1:35 pm

    get over yourself. it’s not even that serious.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

June 2007
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Jul »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Most Recent Posts


